Diversity and Inclusion Committee

One of our most successful strategies in retaining minority attorneys has been our commitment to listen, learn and act upon their suggestions. Our Diversity Task Force, established in 1994, evolved into a standing Committee in the firm. This Committee includes minority and non-minority members of the Policy Committee, Office Managing Partners, Partners, and Associates.

Diversity subcommittees focus on five key topics: Lateral Recruiting, Law School Recruiting/Paul D. White Scholarship, Minority Attorney Conference, Marketing, and Retention. Exemplifying the goal of true diversity, the Committee includes minorities, non-minorities, men and women, lawyers, and staff members.

Diversity and Inclusion Committee:

  • Joyce Ackerbaum Cox
  • Camille C. Bent
  • Fernando A. Bohorquez, Jr.
  • Timothy D. Casey
  • Joseph L. Chairez
  • Charlotte Combre
  • Nancy Frandsen
  • Mark Hatcher
  • Nancy Inesta
  • Edward J. Jacobs
  • Ted T. Martin
  • Marcus McCutcheon
  • Katherine L. McKnight
  • Ronald S. Okada
  • James E. Phillips
  • David F. Proaño
  • Katrina Quicker
  • Paul M. Schmidt
  • Brian W. Song
  • Matthew A. Tenerowicz
  • Sammantha J. Tillotson
  • Gregory C. Ulmer
  • Annette S. Winters

Women's Committee

In addition to the Diversity and Inclusion Committee, BakerHostetler formed a Women's Committee to provide recommendations to management with respect to challenges facing women in the legal profession. Our Houston office was a key signatory for the Women's Initiative by the Houston Bar Association, and our former Houston Office Managing Partner, Lisa Pennington, was the first woman to manage a major law office in Texas. The Women's Committee is currently led by Partner Emily Crosby.

The Committee, which comprises attorneys from all our offices as well as representation from firmwide Human Resources and Marketing, is active at three levels, the firmwide steering committee, the national women's committee and our local office committees. Our national committee includes four subcommittees: Recruiting & Retention, Business Development, Work/Life Balance, and Advancement to Management.

Women's Steering Committee Members:

  • Emily Crosby
  • Linda Goldstein
  • Liz Green
  • Suzanne Hanselman
  • Joann Jones
  • Carole Rendon
  • Lauren Resnick
  • Margaret Rosenthal
  • Elizabeth Smith